The Beginning of Freedom

Would-be artists complain of not having a studio where they can write

“I need a quit place to type,” they say

but when that place arrives

they are bored and uninspired.

They conclude they aren’t writers and the gift of genius wasn’t given to them.

My parents told me

“You won’t make any money from your writing.”

and my best friend told me

“It’s nice to have a blog where you can record your feelings.”

and his sister told me

“You’re more likely to get sued than to get published.”

and his dad told me

“If you keep writing, you’re apt to lose your job.”

If you do something out of the ordinary

everyone you know will discourage you,

and as I fail, year after year, they lose faith in me

while my faith grows, considerably.

They give me criticism

but they’ve never tried the way I have tried.

If they haven’t done what I’ve done

what authority do they have in my life?

Still, I listen to them

because I believe a wise man listens.

I doubt myself and I think I’m crazy

but I wouldn’t want to be any other way.

Knowing when to listen

and when to stop

is wisdom (I think).

If I follow my own path

I am totally responsible for where I go,

and this is the beginning of freedom

to say “no” to fear.


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started